About Us

What is
Frank Jones MSC?

The Frank Jones Memorial Scholarship Commission (FJMSC) was established in 1991 in honor of our late pastor, Rev. Frank Jones of The Greater Piney Grove Baptist Church (GPGBC). The purpose of the FJMS Commission is to encourage all graduating high school seniors who are members of GPGBC to further their education through a two (2) or four (4) year accredited institution of higher learning.

The committee’s first Chairman was Ms. Joyce Brown (1991-2004), and the Vice Chairman was Mrs. Miranda Mack McKenzie. Some of the first members were Ms. Willie Wilson, Ms. Cheryl Slater, Deacon Darryl Frazier, Eldred Taylor MD, Mrs. Janet Manning, Mr. Clifford Hepburn, Mrs. Carolyn Wilkinson, Dea. Art Brown, Mr. Linton Mack, Ms. Maxine Tanker, and Mrs. Sandra Lawton.

In 2005, the Scholarship Committee was restructured and renamed “The Frank Jones Memorial Scholarship Commission” (FJMSC). The GPGBC senior pastor, Dr. William E. Flippin, Sr., was selected as Chairman, and Mrs. Miranda Mack McKenzie was selected as Vice-Chairman.  An endowment for the Scholarship Commission was established in 2006 to ensure funding was available for future scholarships.

In 2007, The William E. Flippin, Sr. Leadership Award was established to recognize one (1) student who has excelled academically, as well as through leadership and service. In November 2014, the commission began seeking non-profit status to offer scholarships to the community that GPGBC serves.  On March 15, 2015, the FJMSC was approved as a 501© (3) non-profit entity.  As a result of its new status, the commission worked to expand its scholarship offerings and was proud to announce the addition of five (5) new scholarships:

Olivia Watkins Bolling Family Foundation Scholarship

Ruby Lee Smith STEM Scholarship

Brenda F. Scott Achievement Award

Dr. Thaddeus Chapman Foundation Scholarship

Alex Ayers Student Athlete Scholarship

There are now twenty-two (22) scholarships offered by the commission. We are eternally grateful to God for our new additions, and as we move forward, we will continue to seek more donors to help educate our children at the church and in the surrounding community.

Board of Directors

Dr. William E. Flippin, Sr.


Miranda Mack McKenzie


Patricia Carter


Monica Bussey


G. Mitchell Brown

Chief Financial Officer

Vivian Flagg

Reporting Manager

Dr. James McWhorter

Endowment Chairperson

Deacon Robert Davis



Mary Boone

Shirley Choates

Dee Chaudhary

Jerry Dillard

Christine Evans

Darryl Frazier, Emeritus

Gwendolyn Fulton

Deborah Heilig

Beverly Herring

Candace Langston

Sandra Lawton, Emeritus

Denetris Murrell

Dr. Bobbie Neal

Carolyn Rosemond

Cheryl Slater

Carla Smith

Dee Smith

Karen Stancil

Carolyn Wilkerson

Quiana Williams

Willie M. Wilson

Robert Bolling

Mary Boone

Shirley J. Choates

Qiana Williams

Candace Langston

Benefits of
Shelly School

Morbi vel augue et metus pellentesque lacinia eu non odio. Sed id purus urna. Maecenas ultrices ligula a nisi dictum tristique. Suspendisse potenti. Curabitur egestas ultrices sem, eu vestibulum leo sagittis et.

Awesome Tutuors

Morbi vel augue et metus pellentesque lacinia eu non odio.

Read more
Best Programm

Pelleneget tespharetra que fringilla egugue id eget pharetra.

Read more
Global Certificate

Etiam risus neque, volutpat vel laoreet a, finibus volutpa.

Read more
Students Support

Etiam risus neque, volutpat vel laoreet a, finibus volutpa.

Read more

All High School and College graduates must complete the Graduate Information Form for inclusion in graduate recognition activities.